Awesomely Random: Frank Ocean “Nature Feels”

11 04 2011

If you haven’t herd of Frank Ocean, you are missing out, big time. I was introduced to him through a friend of mine who just kept talking about this song “Novacane”, so when I finally gave the song a listen, I was sold. Signed and shelved by Def Jam, Frank was determined to get his dream out, so he took to his Tumblr page to share his talent with his first album, “Nostalgia, Ultra”.

He even wrote his own press release:

My name is Frank Ocean. I grew up in New Orleans. I’m from Odd Future. I wrote Nostalgia, Ultra in spring 2010. I think I have Synesthesia. I feel more like some type of visual artist than a musician when I’m working. I just mean my process is more about imagery. Maybe people wanna call it a certain genre because I’m a black guy singing. I don’t really mind. To be honest, I don’t think much about it. I categorize it in iTunes as Bluegrass or Death Metal usually. I’m pretty sure I have Synesthesia though. I also wear a Kippah from time to time. I smoke Marijuana for anxiety. Oh, and I used to battle-rap in High School.

He’s so dope.

Right now, I’m jamming his song “Nature Feels”, which is a song he did over MGMT’s “Electric Feel” (that song has the most plays on my ipod, I fucking love it). Frank definitely has a very distinctive voice and amazing talent, and with all the feedback he’s getting from his album, he doesn’t even need a record deal.

Download “Nostalgia, Ultra” here and enjoy.

credit: smokingsection

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

